I Don’t Like Mondays by Boomtown Rats

The number one hit single of a Irish punk rock Boomtown Rats’ I Don’t Like Mondays really struck my ear drums. It’s about the killings at a local high school institution, initiated by a troubled teenage schoolgirl.

Being aware of what the lyrics imply in relation to this track make me pleased about it more.

Yet, the point that this unpleasant incident really occured makes this song far more surreal, gloomy and dark than I formerly considered when I first heard it. I assumed it was was just some ‘new wave thingy’  intended to establish this band’s songwriting ability and to enable them eliminate their punk lineage. It’s definitely much more than that and absolutely has branded itself among of the better single hit to come out during the 80s

With regards to the young girl, Brenda Spencer has been up for parole and has been refused it every time.

Well, no one I know can confirm this and I’m relatively certain the song arrived after this incident happened. I think the frontman Bob Geldorf was creating a statement concerning “gun control” in the United States and overseas. (See college-paper.org)

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

